Beauty · Favorites

What’s In My Beauty Bag: December

What's in My Makeup Bag -  December (1)

From my favorite foundation to some palettes I have been obsessed over, I will take you on a journey through my makeup bag and show you the products I just can’t get enough of for the month of December.

Ever since I found the Too Faced Born This Way Foundationit has been my go-to. I love the way this feels and looks on my skin. It gives plenty of coverage while still looking very natural and luminous (hence the name “Born This Way” 😉 ).While it is on the dewy side, I don’t find any issues with it making me look extremely oily throughout the day. The texture isn’t too thick or too thin. It is the perfect creamy consistency that blends into your skin effortlessly and blurs imperfections, giving just the right amount of coverage. Although this foundation would honestly be good for any time of the year, it is especially good for the dry winter months when you need something a little more fresh and luminous. Speaking of luminous, my favorite highlighter is the Becca Pressed Shimmering Skin Perfector in Moonstone. It gives you an ethereal ‘lit from within’ glow that is absolutely stunning. Trust me, once you use it, you’ll never want to go a day without it.

In my opinion, Tarte makes some of the best blushes on the market. They have the perfect amount of pigmentation and last an incredibly long amount of time on the skin. Every year they come out with Amazonian Clay blush palettes, but I never managed to get my hands on one until this year when they released their Bling It On Blush Palette (unfortunately this palette is no longer available on Sephora, but Amazon is reselling it for a marked up price). Ever since I got this palette, I have been using it non-stop. It has every color I need on a daily basis and I can mix and match whichever colors I want.

What's in My Makeup Bag -  December (3)

The Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette has 3 different finishing powders that I love to use for setting my foundation. If you want to set your face without having a powdery finish to your skin, then you should definitely give these powders a try. They take away shine while leaving your skin looking luminous at the same time. I love using that palette on a daily basis along with my Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder. I tend to get a little bit shinier through my t-zone and this translucent powder is excellent at mattifying the skin and locking my foundation and concealer into place.

Whenever I want to add some more definition and drama to my makeup look, the Inglot Sculpting Powder in 504 has been my go to contour powder. This particular shade is neither too warm or too ashy, making it the perfect color to add natural shading to your face.

My everyday eye makeup usually consists of a bright shimmery color on the lid. The Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow in Thunderstruck has been my favorite metallic eyeshadow for this purpose. It is a beautiful creamy white with a metallic opalescence running through it. I am absolutely blown away by the quality of Kat Von D’s new eyeshadows. They are extremely creamy and pigmented to apply and have incredible lasting power! I also can’t stay away from my Tarte Tartelette Palette. It has literally EVERY matte color you will ever need to create to add depth and dimension to your eyes.

The Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade in Medium Brown is my all-time favorite brow product. I love natural yet defined brows and the tiniest amount of this stuff goes a long way. It is easy to go overboard with this and get “fake” looking brows but if you use it sparingly, it will give just the right amount of definition that lasts all day long.

What's in My Makeup Bag -  December (2)

Kat Von D’s Liquid Lipstick in Mother is the perfect mid-tone dusty rose  that is universally flattering to everyone and you can pair this color with virtually anything. Kat Von D makes my absolute favorite liquid lipsticks because they don’t crack or settle into your lip lines. When my lips get chapped in the cold winter months, I turn to the Kaplan MD Lip 20 Mask. It basically dissolves the dead surface layer of skin to magically reveal baby soft lips underneath. Just be careful that you don’t forget to wipe it off after 5 minutes or else it will give you the opposite affect.

I got a sample of the Benefit Roller Lash Mascara with my points at Sephora and I have been stuck on it ever since. It is an all around great performing mascara that will give you volume, separation, length and hold a curl to your lashes. It also doesn’t smudge or flake, so I can safely say that I have found my “holy grail” mascara. This month I discovered a magical eyeliner that manages to always stay sharp and ready to go. I love putting the Smashbox Always Sharp Waterproof Kohl Liner on my inner rim because I know it won’t smudge or transfer to my waterline. As a warning to anyone who tries this eyeliner: if you feel that it is not releasing any more product, it is. The pencil is built to automatically eject more eyeliner when you screw the cap on, so don’t worry if you can’t figure out how to get more liner out.

I am a sucker for metallic nail polish so when I saw this Marc Jacobs Hi-Shine Nail Lacquer in Petra I was struck by its three-dimensional beauty. It’s a metallic bronze-pewter that is extremely pigmented and smooth to apply.

What products were you constantly reaching for this December? 

Leave a Reply

